In accordance with the Cayman Islands Animals Law, no animal of any description may be imported into the Cayman Islands from any country in Asia, Africa, Central and South America. Other countries from which animals are prohibited are Cuba, Puerto Rico, Haiti and the Dominican Republic.

Certain breeds of dogs or cross breeds are prohibited from entering the Cayman Islands. Genetic material, such as semen and frozen embryos from these breeds are also prohibited. These breeds include, but are not necessarily limited to:-

Mallanois, Rottweiller, Japanese Tosa, Dogo Argentino, Fila Brazileiro, Chinese Shar-Pei, Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Akita, Staffordshire Terrier, Staffordshire Bull Terrier, American Bull Dog, Dogue de Bordeaux, Mastiff (all types).